A Book A Month (November): Eightysixed: Life Lessons Learned

I may be the worst blogger ever, but hopefully you guys are still reading out there. I’d just like to say a big “Thank You!” to Emily Belden, the author of November’s book of the month. Not only is she a fellow Chicagoan, but she also agreed to a discount for DTG readers. So pay attention, you may love this book, Eightysixed: Life Lessons Learned.

Stay tuned for her Dreamer Feature.

Pages: 3771 (according to my kindle iPhone app)

Synopsis: Follow the life of Emily as she navigates through Chicago’s single scene. It all starts with a horrible break up with a narcissist, which leads to a couple “rough” dates, then proceeds to an entrance into the Michelin Star-rated restaurant scene, and ends with a happily ever after.

Review: Overall, Eightysixed is a fun read. I may not have connected with it as much as some ladies would, but, to give you a frame of reference, I’ve been out of the dating scene for almost six years and none of mine was in Chicago. But, some of the horror stories did make me thankful of my relationship and reminded me of some college memories.

All of Emily’s stories were true, raw, funny or dramatic. Some dramatic moments were a bit too dramatic (i.e. comparing the news of her ex-boyfriend’s new girlfriend to 9/11), but hey, at least every reader has a chance to connect with her. It’s almost unbelievable that she experienced everything she did (For example, partying with a coke-head and her sugar daddy), but it goes to show just how crazy Chicago can be if you let yourself experience anything life throws at you.

Any out-of-towners intrigued, yet?

One of my favorite parts of this book is the inside look into the Michelin Star Restaurant scene. I know a little bit about the “chef life” because of Mike, but hearing another person’s experience in it, was fascinating. And, I’d have to say, Emily’s experience at Alinea was pretty magical (I’m jealous).

I don’t want to give up too much information because we’re all about supporting dreamers, so go, buy the book! Emily was witty, unapologetic, and inspirational to any want-to-be writer. I’m happy to have the opportunity to help support a fellow Chicagoan blogger/writer! I hope you choose to help her too!

Remember, you can get 20% off the paperback version with the code 2NPRU7QM : https://www.createspace.com/4562243

OR

Get it on Amazon, here.

Leave a Comment

