A Book A Month (July): Frog Music by Emma Donoghue

I was cutting it close with this book, but I was determined to finish before the end of the month. I had 160 more pages to go with one day left, but I completed it.

I didn’t know what to expect since I got this book from one of the little “bird house” libraries in the neighborhood, and I still don’t really know how I feel about it.

Pages: 416

Synopsis: When I immediately think of this book I think of the smallpox epidemic, a love square, and burlesque. Interesting, right?!

This book flashes between Blanche Beunon, a French burlesque dancer,  living with her gambling boyfriend while she gets to know a strange woman Jenny Bonnett and when she’s trying to avenge Jenny’s murder.

Blanche was the town’s most successful burlesque dancer then Jenny Bonnett came into her life and things changed. Jenny, a frog-catching tom boy made Blanche think about how her boyfriend was using her, how her son was living in horrible conditions, and how to be a little more adventurous.

After Blanche and Jenny go on a trip to get away from Blanche’s boyfriend, Jenny gets murdered and the rest of the book is trying to figure out who did it.

The ending is a little different then one would expect, but results in some great plot twists.

Review: I wouldn’t necessarily recommend this book to a friend. It’s a little too long, a little too choppy, and a little ridiculous. The storyline is tumultuous, but has about four more story lines than it needs to have.

Have any of you read it? Do you disagree?

 

 

If you need a book, buy it here.

Leave a Comment

