Featured Dreamer: Sean Thompson

How old are you?  47

How old do you act? 30ish most days, 15 when I’m feeling special!

Where do you live? Simi Valley, CA

What’s so great about where you live?  It’s northwest of Los Angeles, sunny year-round, 40 minutes from the beach & a 4-5 hours by car to Vegas… there are worse places to live!

What’s your current job? I’m an Accountant at an employee-friendly company in Malibu where I see the Pacific whenever I leave my desk.

What’s your dream job? It doesn’t have to be a title, you can describe what you’d be doing in that job. If you do work your dream job, tell us about it.  

Storyteller: short stories, novels, screenplays… whatever! I just need to write.

What does your dream life include?

Writing daily, taking care of my family and friends, working out, teaching a few yoga classes per week when I become certified in 2015, long vacations and lots of handstands!

Besides money, how can people help you reach that ultimate dream life? Don’t be shy.

Support my writing and help spread the word. I’m currently working on finding representation and a publishing deal so I’m eager to make as many contacts as I can.

Do you have dream contacts you’d like to make?

Guy Ritchie, Malcolm Lee, Quentin Tarantino, Robert Rodriguez, Eli Roth, and Guillermo Del Toro … to name just a few

Who would you invite to a dream dinner?

All the family and friends who supported me while I’ve pursued my storytelling dream. A list of approximately 20 people and all are still living… it’s gonna be a ridiculous celebration, and it will happen!

What’s your dream trip?

Three weeks in Australia and New Zealand.

What’s the biggest dream you’ve attained so far in your life?

I raised two healthy, intelligent daughters (Taryn 21, Arie 20) who know that happiness isn’t cheap or easy. Both are extremely hard workers who are on their career paths and won’t stop until they reach their goals. Doesn’t hurt that they’re such great people I would want them in my life if they weren’t my kids.

And… finishing the final Splinters of the Soul edits on my most recent birthday is a close 2nd, as it took 5 ½ years from start-to-finish.

What’s the best advice someone has given you to attain your dreams?

I saw the following meme on Instagram last November and saved it to my phone immediately: “Never give up on a dream just because of the time it will take to accomplish it. The time will pass anyway.”

What’s your advice to others?

The same I told my daughters years ago. No one is going to hand you anything and anything worth having isn’t going to come easy. Figure out you need to do and come up with a plan. Put your head down and grind as hard as you can. So what if it takes years? The time is gonna pass anyway, might as well put in the work necessary to make yourself happy.

If you can help Sean out, go for it. Learn more about him at http://www.authorseanthompson.com/.

 

Leave a Comment

