Featured Dreamer: Christine Longe

This week’s Dreamer is Christine Longe who is performing  The Two-Step at the Fringe Festival in Chicago until September 6th.

How old are you? 30

How old do you act? 5-100, depending on company, the day, and the state of the world

Where do you live? Seattle, WA

What’s so great about where you live? Mountains, and water, and greenery – oh, my!

What’s your current job? Gymnastics coach for children ages 18 months to 7 years old

What’s your dream job? My current combination of creativity and coaching is a dream job! I have a steady income with a fun hobby – plus playing with kids and supporting their appreciation for movement/body awareness – and that supports my life as a working artist. My next dream job: I’m applying to work as a physical actor/clown for Cirque du Soleil.

The Two-Step Christine Longe dance 1

What does your dream life include?

Travel, music, delicious food, wonderful family and friends, books, theatre, and love.

Besides money, how can people help you reach that ultimate dream life?

Share a hug. I’m here, living the dream!

Do you have dream contacts you’d like to make?

I’d love to chat with Carol Burnett, and I wish I could’ve chatted with Elaine Stritch. I’m grateful for the two times I’ve chatted with Bill Irwin.

Who would you invite to a dream dinner?

Every artist who’s inspired me in the past 30 years (we’d need a very large banquet hall) so I could personally thank them. Then thousands of balloons would fall from the ceiling and we’d all play and laugh and have a wildly good time.

What’s your dream trip?

I fantasize about visiting all the exotic beaches around the world (in Thailand, New Zealand, south France, Greece, South Africa, etc, etc, etc).

What’s the biggest dream you’ve attained so far in your life?

I’ve finally written a show about my grandmother, after years of thinking about it and wondering about it.

What’s the best advice someone has given you to attain your dreams?

A dear friend simply said, “You are enough.”

What’s your advice to others?

I really like the reminder that “everyone’s fighting their own battles, so be kind to one another.” My character’s advice in The Two-Step is “If you want to have fun, then you will!”

Additional questions:

How did you get involved in the Fringe Festival?

I applied for their lottery drawing, and I was fortunately chosen from the pool of other artists!

Tell us a little bit about The Two-Step. Something that’s not in the
play write up?

 After writing at least ten drafts of the script, the current version has less dancing than I originally intended. Oops!

What’s the best thing about being active in the theater industry?

 We have so many stories to tell, so many different ways to share them, millions of audience members to share the stories with, and another plethora of people to collaborate with.  It’s NEVER boring.

What’s it like owning your own theater company, Cheep Art?

It’s still pretty new and unknown, in a way. Sometimes I have to explain the name, a play on words, which is best understood as the logo picture: a bird chirping/cheeping the word “art.” That idea originated when painting little canvases to sell at an artist trunk show.

What’s your next big project?

 I have a few clown show ideas, as well as a dance piece (hopefully to collaborate with choreographer and composer friends). So much to do!
To get to know Christine and The Two-Step more, check out these pages:
Leave a Comment

