A Book A Month (June): Mennonite In A Little Black Dress By Rhoda Janzen

I wanted to read Mennonite In A Little Black Dress by Rhoda Janzen since it came out, so I pretty excited someone agreed to reading it with me.

I finished the book just in time, but Patti and I never talked about it, so here goes! Let me know about my review and the book!

Pages: 256

Synopsis: A memoir documenting Rhoda’s life after her divorce from her husband who started dating a guy named Bob from gay.com, and her new life at her Mormon parent’s home.

Well, it’s not a new life, but it’s definitely a whirlwind for a liberal, English & Creative Writing Hope College Professor to go back to her conservative mormon parent’s house to heal emotionally and physically.

While at her parent’s, she dates a couple of different characters and learns to appreciate her family’s religion and upbringing — something she always criticized and hid.

Review: It was witty, insightful and worthy of sympathy. I think the best thing about this book is Rhoda’s ability to make you feel like she’s talking with you at a coffee date. The story is gossipy, funny, and something you can relate to. Everyone has relationship issues, a crazy family, and struggles of becoming like their elder family members.

While I wish there was more of a plot twist later on in the book, I understand it’s a memoir. No everyone’s life is juicy like the fiction books. But, I do appreciate the way she wrote about Mormonism and her family life. It is strict like you’d think, but the deeper look inside the family dynamics make you see that they’re not so different then other religions.

I’d recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a light read and to anyone who might be doubting their family’s morals. It’ll make you appreciate your childhood, morals, and where you are now.

If this sounds like a book you’d like to read, buy it here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Buy on Amazon, here.

Leave a Comment

