It’s All About The Peonies

Shout out to all the bloggers, writers, fashion designers and everyone on the web for posting beautiful pictures of peonies. I’ve never seen so many peonies in my life. Can we say flower trend of the summer?!

Being the rebel that I am, I definitely will not be posting pictures of peonies in my own home. So, does anyone have suggestions for other beautiful, in-season flowers? I’m the type of person who purchases the Trader Joe’s Flowers, so keep in mind I’m on a budget (as per usual).

Here’s a collection of the peonies I found on my instagram in just one week! I probably missed some here and there, but wow! Click on the photos to be directed to the publisher’s website or instagram page.

Just search #peony and you’ll find more than 210,000 posts,  #peonies has over 227,000!

Fun facts about peonies:

• A friend’s mom told her “A long time ago they symbolized shame because sex addicts used the petals for something scandalous.” But here’s wikipedia’s take on that “Mischievous nymphs were said to hide in the petals of the Peony, giving it the meaning of Shame or Bashfulness in the Language of Flowers. ”

•  It is also known as  “flower of riches and honour” or  “king of the flowers”, and is used symbolically in Chinese art.

*If you’re mentioned in the post and would like to be removed, please let me know

*featured image via mentioned friend. Thanks Patti!

One thought on “It’s All About The Peonies

Leave a Comment

