#17 Accomplished: Host A Dinner Party

There are some things that scream adulthood; getting married, having kids, having a full-time job, and hosting a dinner party. A part of me wants to embrace this next stage in life and the other wants to run away like a kid who sees cookies and cake in a nearby storefront. For now, I’ll take one step closer to becoming a frigid adult by  hosting a dinner party with fat kid foods.

Even though Mike is a great chef and, I like to think, I’m a great hostess, it’s still hard to get people to journey to Edgewater to eat dinner in a one bedroom apartment with an overly-loving dog.  My plan of attack: make the place look pretty.

As you may recall, may #17 goal is to host a dinner party with fabric napkins, a table runner, and decor. Here’s what I did for our Thanksgiving Dinner:

Processed with VSCOcam

 

I made the paper centerpiece out of craft paper and glue. It’s two sections that took me maybe about 4 hours to make in total, but I wanted the dishes to be the focus.

Processed with VSCOcam Processed with VSCOcamMike and I are eclectic when it comes to dinnerware, but I think it all looked great together. All of our dishes are white with different textures. It helps a lot since we’re both a tad clumsy. We won’t be disappointed or mad if one breaks because we won’t have to worry about not finding the same collection of dinnerware.
Processed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcamOur little touch of hospitality was a fortune cookie. Not terribly Thanksgiving like, but I guess it’s our version of a wishbone.
Processed with VSCOcam Processed with VSCOcam

The spread everyone cooked up.IMG_0621

Mike made the turkey, but this photo doesn’t do it justice, but it was incredibly juicy and delicious — he has better photos on his website,here.

tday

And this was the other decoration in the living room. I’ll be doing a separate post about this easy decor soon.

We have hosted other dinner parties after this one, but it may be the most adult-like party so far. What do you think?

 

Leave a Comment

