A Book A Month (February): Brain on Fire

February was supposed to be the first See Shel X DTG Book Club, but it wasn’t so successful. With busy schedules, plans were never¬†settled, but I still need to tell you about this great autobiography.

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness

By: Susannah Cahalan

Pages: 288

Brain on FireSynopsis: Susannah was a 24-year-old NY Post writer when all of a sudden strange things started to happen. She developed headaches, lost control of her body, lost her memory, and other crazy things. After being misdiagnosed several times, a doctor realizes she has an extremely rare disease that wasn’t known till about four years before.

My review: While reading this book it was hard to remember that it was an autobiography. Susannah was a successful writer when all of a sudden she lost control of her body and memory. I can’t even imagine having all of my goals ripped away from me because of a mystery disease. ¬†It’s even harder to imagine that the disease she had wasn’t known until about four years ago. Women were misdiagnosed for depression, psychiatric problem, and other things for some many years.

I also have to mention that while reading this book my hypochondriac mind started wondering. It’s funny now, but I was getting headaches and I kept thinking my memory was going bad.

I recommend this book to everyone. It’s so inspiring that Susannah was able to fully recover and write this book when she could hardly function for a whole month. She is proof that you can do whatever you put your mind to.

Rating: 9/10

 

One thought on “A Book A Month (February): Brain on Fire

Leave a Comment

