Dreamer: Megan Scurlock

Megan Scurlock

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Instagramg5838

How old are you? 28

How old do you act? I think I act my age, but I definitely don’t look it— or so I’m told. One day, I think I will appreciate that I look younger than I am, but for now it can be frustrating as I’m not always taken seriously.

Where do you live? In Franklin, Tenn. (which I love), but I will always be a Texas girl.

What’s so great about where you live? Franklin is iconic for a lot of firsts for me. The first out-of-state town I moved to (other than a short stint in NYC), the place I got married, where I fell in love with wedding planning, where I bought my first home, and hopefully where I will have my first kid. It’s a small, vibrant town, just on the outskirts of Nashville. Believe the hype around Nashville that’s going on right now— it really is cool. I also love that Franklin has a lot of history. A major Civil War battle was fought here and there are tons of antebellum homes.

What’s your current job? I have two jobs. I’ve always been the type to want more than one thing on my plate at a time. If you ever find me with just one job, I’d likely be serving on a board somewhere. I currently do marketing for a reform Jewish synagogue and I just started my own event planning business— Locklane Weddings & Events.

What’s your dream job? It doesn’t have to be a title, you can describe what you’d be doing in that job. If you do work your dream job, tell us about it. My dream job is currently in the works. It is to have a thriving event planning company that helps everyone from the budget bride to the Hollywood gala. Starting my company is the first step, but eventually I hope to have various planners working with me. I’m also really interested in destination weddings, as I love to travel.

I believe I can help people through event planning. We all have life events that need to be celebrated, or even money to be raised. I can help make it effortless and memorable. At some point everyone has probably planned a birthday party, so they feel they can plan any event, until they are in the middle of it! Event planning is not everyone’s forte, but it’s what I love to do and I want to be there to provide guidance.

What does your dream life include? My husband, future kids (including some adopted), lots of travel to faraway places, and a successful business.

Besides money, how can people help you reach that ultimate dream life? Don’t be shy. Do you have an event to plan? Give me a call! Besides booking events, I’m hoping to expand my friendships within the event industry. I know many people in the Nashville area and they are all knowledgeable (and connected), but I would like to meet with people outside of Nashville too.

Do you have dream contacts you’d like to make? Kellee Khalil, the founder of Loverly. It’s an awesome website for brides that had really grown in its reach. I’m also a fan of entrepreneurs and everything I’ve read about Ms. Khalil has been impressive.

Marcy Blum, in New York, is said to be one of the first to create a successful wedding planning career. She’s planned weddings for the stars – including Kyra Sedgwick, who I adore.

Who would you invite to a dream dinner? This is such a tough question! I have so many people. I would say Amelia Earhart, Audrey Hepburn, Mindy Kaling, Corrie Ten Boom… the list could go on!

What’s your dream trip? Santorini, Greece. I really would love a Mediterranean cruise, but Santorini is the picture perfect spot. It’s so stunning. One day!

What’s the biggest dream you’ve attained so far in your life? My life in general is a pretty great. It’s cheesy, but I’ve always wanted to be a wife. I dreamed of marrying my best friend and I did. And to top it off, we have a great house, adorable pets, good friends, a great town, and the opportunity to start my own business… I’m lucky.

What’s the best advice someone has given you to attain your dreams?

1. Keep your head up. Even if you think your dream opportunity has passed you by, don’t wallow, look for something else; it’s likely to be just around the corner and better than you expected.

2. “This is your life. Choose your backdrop; your characters who will shape what you will become, what you have become; the clothes you will be wearing when your breath is taken away; and the soundtrack that will play whenever, whatever.

Bring a smile to someone’s face. In fact, smile at those that hate you. They’ll just be confused.” -My sister, Brianna

What’s your advice to others? All of the above! And don’t just sit around dreaming— take action!

Leave a Comment

