Dreamer: Julia Porter

Julia Porter

How old are you? 33

How old do you act? It depends on the situation. If I’m with my best friend of 20 years, chances are, I’m acting 16. At work, I feel like I’m older than 33!

Where do you live? Warsaw, IN. I grew up outside of Indianapolis and lived in Brooklyn, NY where I taught at an all-girls high school for five years. I am still “homesick” for Brooklyn.

What’s so great about where you live? It’s a small community where people are overall, friendly and caring. We have a lot of lakes and in the summertime, it is absolutely beautiful. I, personally, have 12 acres of woods behind my house, which are gorgeous.

What’s your current job? I’m an adjunct professor and a PhD student.

What’s your dream job? It doesn’t have to be a title, you can describe what you’d be doing in that job. If you do work your dream job, tell us about it. My dream job is in academia where I can pursue my love of teaching, supporting low-income students, and to have the flexibility to be with my family.

What does your dream life include? Honestly, one of my dreams is to be able to spend one month out of the summer with my family in Europe. Seems cheesy, but it’s a real goal of mine.

Besides money, how can people help you reach that ultimate dream life? Don’t be shy. To help me network!

Do you have dream contacts you’d like to make? I feel like I’ve made many of my dream contacts through previous jobs in education and in the non-profit sector. My husband and I are in the adoption process and two people who have been an inspiration to me are Becky Fawcett, co-founder of Helpusadopt.org and Nia Vardalos. I’d love to have dinner with them both!

Who would you invite to a dream dinner? F. Scott Fitzgerald, Inez Milholland, Marie Curie, Coco Chanel, and Oscar Wilde.

What’s your dream trip? Australia. I’m not the greatest flyer, but this is a goal of mine! (It’s the 20 + hour flight I can’t quite wrap my brain around yet!)

What’s the biggest dream you’ve attained so far in your life? Getting into a PhD program. I was an average student in high school and wasn’t well supported by many teachers (one of my reasons for pursuing education!), but in college, I had some amazing mentors who helped me realize my potential. I have a B.S. in English Education and an M.A. in English Literature. I never believed in myself enough that I could earn my doctorate, but I’m in an awesome program with a 4.0 GPA!

What’s the best advice someone has given you to attain your dreams? My grandma told me that living with regrets is no way to live. She encouraged me to try everything I have wanted to do because the worst that can happen is that it won’t work out. So far, everything has. 🙂

What’s your advice to others? We are our own worst enemies. If you have a dream, go for it! Chances are, it’s not as hard as you thought!

Leave a Comment

