Dreamer: Jemar Souza

jemar 120713 looks 1024 sz-9

g5786 /www.MyDecade.Us / www.MyDecade.Us/album

How old are you? 26

How old do you act? Hmmm. I think anywhere between 5 and 50 depending on the moment and your perspective. “What Is Your Mental Age” says I’m 22, though.

Where do you live? Bronx, NY

What’s so great about where you live? Uhm…it’s the birthplace of Hip-Hop?

What’s your current job? Freelance Social Media Manager

What’s your dream job? It doesn’t have to be a title, you can describe what you’d be doing in that job. If you do work your dream job, tell us about it.  Something related to doing social good and/or uses my hands more. I want to eventually make a big impact in the economy and sustainable living. A strategist at GOODcorps would probably be a good start.

What does your dream life include? The freedom to do whatever I want in a given moment, not trapped by a “job” or other pursuits for money. I’ll be living in my small house off the grid, where I grow my own food and generate my own clean power. I’d wake up, solve a world problem or two and then just work on creative projects until it’s time to make food. Wendy Tremayne’s Good Life Lab is an inspiration.

Besides money, how can people help you reach that ultimate dream life? Don’t be shy. Hmmm…get in touch with me if you’re a creative artist, strategist, or entrepreneur that wants to make the world a better place. I don’t have THE idea yet, but I have a couple of ideas I’d love to discuss with serious people. Oh, and check out the #MyDecade project and spread the word. www.MyDecade.Us

Do you have dream contacts you’d like to make? If so, whom?  Someone who works at GOODcorps or other related companies that would think I’m a promising candidate. I’d also love to meet Wendy Tremayne, Michio Kaku, Seth Godin, Baratunde, Neil deGrasse Tyson, and Hakeem Oluseyi.

Who would you invite to a dream dinner? Everybody mentioned above, plus Kanye West, Jay-Z, some economists and Pendleton Ward, the creator of Adventure Time.

What’s your dream trip? Space. I wanna hangout on the Moon, Mars, or Europa for a bit. And play beer pong or something before heading back.

What’s the biggest dream you’ve attained so far in your life? Self-published the My Decade book!

What’s the best advice someone has given you to attain your dreams? “Just keep writing…”

What’s your advice to others? Whatever your dream may be, start doing whatever you can right now to make it happen. I really want to be a songwriter and At the Start of My Decade is about to be a music album (and then more!!)…but it started as just poems posted on a WordPress powered blog. There’s always a step one that you can do right now. Recognize it. Do it.

Jemar has six days left for his Kickstarter! Go check it out, and support his dream. I already have the book, so I donated enough to get the CD! Let’s make his dream happen! Here’s his campaign’s video.

Leave a Comment

