Dream Meals

Untitled-2

I have to confess something. Ever since Mike started culinary school and working in restaurants, I haven’t made dinner as often. I guess that’s not too bad, but I love cooking and trying new things.  Also, we’ve spent way too much money on groceries.

One way to stop this, troll Pinterest for affordable, healthy and delicious meals. Mike and I are trying to go on our honeymoon as soon as possible and any way we can speed up the process of paying the weddings bills off is great!

Here’s a week’s worth of dinners I’ve found so far. There’s also a link of the grocery list you’ll need below.

Ancho Chicken Tacos from myrecipes.com

It seems like there’s a lot to buy from the ingredient list but the only things I don’t have are the chicken, sour cream, cabbage, tortillas, green onions and cilantro. I know that I can get all of those at the Asian market off of Argyle and Aldi for cheap!

Salad
Toasted Kale and Avocado Salad from A House in the Hills

This is a simple salad made with very affordable ingredients. It is a simple salad so I’d pair it with Aldi-brand tomato soup.

Recipe from skinnytaste.com

Another meal that would probably need something to go along with it, but you can probably whip something up with your extras from other meals. It also has a lot of the ingredients were using in the other meals. 

Recipe for Mango Basil Personalized Tortilla Pizza from Averie Cooks

We already have the tortillas on the list and all the other ingredients are basics, well maybe not the mangoes, but it seems like a delicious and easy meal.

Loaded baked potato. Picture from sweetlifebake.com

Loaded baked potatoes sound amazing and they are on the affordable side. I’ll make mine without the sour cream on top, but I guess it is already on the list. The only things that are not on our list are potatoes.

Turkey Burgers from userealbutter.com

Turkey burgers are a great hamburger alternative.

Shrimp and Bean Sprout Stir Fry from Bloomi.com

Another meal that will be easy to shop for at the Asian market and that has ingredients from the other meals.

What do you guys think? Have you tried any of these recipes? I’ll let you know the final cost of the grocery list once I’ve bought it all. Happy cooking!

DTG Grocery List

Leave a Comment

