A Book A Month (November): How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

Caitlin Moran

I grabbed this book in October anticipating it would be the perfect book to bring me into my adult woman life. Everyone kept saying after 25, things start going down hill, so I thought I might as well read a book that’s supposed to be funny and about being a real woman. Well, the reviews got it wrong.

Book info.

Pages: 320

My review: I remember when this book first came out and everyone was raving about it. How Caitlin Moran was the British version of Tina Fey, and how this was the British equivalent to Bossypants. Well I didn’t get that. Tina Fey’s tale of her life was way more comical, Moran’s life is just sad. 

Yes, there were some parts that were funny, but I didn’t laugh out loud during one single part of How To Be A Woman — like I did while I read Bossy Pants. Maybe I’m more critical when it comes to reading books about writers struggling to find themselves and their womanhood…I’m doing the same thing, but I don’t have a book deal. Do people really want to read about how I’m suffering to pay my loans or how my dog jumps out our fourth story window. Nope. I don’t think I’ll be reading a journalist/blogger’s book anytime soon after reading this book and last month’s book.

I think Moran’s way of defining feminism is great. And I love how she has a “fuck you” attitude, but that’s about it. I guess it was a great book when it comes to addressing what really happens to a woman as she ages. Like how your boobs sag, how childbirth sucks (how it’s not anything what explain it to be), and how high heels suck.

Maybe it’s more of a book men should read to understand women, than a book for a woman to read on how to be a woman.

Rating: 6/10

Who disagrees with me?

Leave a Comment

