Dreamer: Danny Sobor

Age: 21

Lives In: Chicago (born), Providence (during the school year)

Current Job: College Student. Owner of Milk Supply Co.

Ultimate Dreams:
I want to become the best artist and designer I can possibly be. I hope to use my art to help make a positive impact on the world and to change the way people see it. My ultimate dream would to become a Shepard Fairey-like figure. He started as a graffiti artist and then developed a clothing line. Following that, he began using his art to make serious impacts on society. Along with designing the iconic Obama “Hope” poster he was the designer behind the “Feeding America” marketing campaign. I want to follow my dream of becoming an artist and designer while making my family, friends, and hometown of Chicago proud.

What are you doing to attain your dream?
Along with drawing, painting, sculpting and learning about art at every moment I can, I recently started a clothing and design company called the Milk Supply Co. We sell shirts, hand-decorated shoes, and a coloring book to draw in when on psychedelic drugs (or sober, it’s still fun). The company is a passion project and is the result of four months of intense designing done over the last summer. Milk is motivated by a desire to give back to the city and friends that raised me in my hometown of Chicago for the first 18 years of my life. It is also inspired by the loss of a dear friend who was my age to a brain tumor. His passing reminded me to appreciate life to the fullest and to gain everything I possibly could from it. Milk is a way for me to share my art and to give back.

What do you think you ultimately need to attain your dreams?
The beauty of dreaming to be a terrific artist is that the dream is somewhat unattainable. I can always (and hopefully will always) become a better designer. I will never step back one day and say wow, my designs are perfect. Instead, I’ll create something, take what I like from it, put my head down and keep moving forward in an attempt to make my next endeavor even better. I am always trying to innovate upon my technique and style and am learning more about art every day. As long as I continue working, learning, innovating upon my techniques, and producing more art, I will get as close as I humanly can to attaining my dreams.

Have you attained any dreams? If so, what were they and what did you do to attain them?
On my 21st birthday I attained my biggest dream to date by launching the Milk Supply Co. I had wanted to have my own clothing company since I was 16, and finally releasing the culmination of years of thought and design was cathartic. I had the chance to share my art with the world and to send physical manifestations of it all over the country. I can’t remember another time I felt that accomplished.

Picture 2
photo credit: Tom Sullivan

What’s your advice to other dreamers?
Pursue what you love with a passion. If the passion doesn’t intensify the more you pursue your love, then the love isn’t meant to be. I was pressured by myself and people around me to go to business school or to become a doctor when I was younger. I always loved art. Once I stopped denying that love to myself, I threw myself into my work. Now, I wake up every morning with the opportunity to do exactly what I want to do. It feels amazing.
We’ll need an appropriate portrait and any links to blogs, websites, projects you’d like mentioned.

Make sure you go buy some shirts and follow him on Facebook and Instagram. Check in tomorrow for a special giveaway too! Really excited that Danny offered some stuff for you!

3 thoughts on “Dreamer: Danny Sobor

Leave a Comment

