A Book A Month (September): The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver

The-Giver1

I had all intentions to read The History of Love  for September, but all my spare time got dedicated to finalizing wedding plans. In order to make sure I read a book (I mean I’m so close to a whole year of this list) I picked up the shortest book I owned. I know it’s kind of cheating, but at least I still read something. I think I had to read this book in middle school (maybe elementary) and I remembered that it was a great story, so I decided to revisit it.

Book Info 

Pages: 179

Synopsis: Imagine living in a world where everything seemed perfect. There was no war, no loss, no starving, no arguments. Everyone talks things out, everyone has a job, the weather is perfect, and when you’re growing up you get something every year until you’re 12.  And then on your 12th birthday you realized the world you lived in was contrived because the elders wanted sameness and no true feeling. The Giver tells the story of Jonas and how he begins his training of being a community’s Receiver of Memory. 

Opinion: It’s a great book to read to get you to appreciate the lives we live in the US. I know it could be hard now with the government all messed up, but we should be happy we don’t live in a world of “sameness.” Where we have the chance to have grandparents, be whatever we want to be, experience seasons, wear whatever we want to wear, etc. It’s crazy to think that if the government really wanted to, we could live in a world of sameness. I don’t have any doubts that scientists have the talents to create our world the same as the world in The Giver. So I’m glad we don’t. I’m also glad there isn’t a Giver or Receiver of Memory. That job would suck. Or maybe we do? dun dun dun

Rating: 10/10

If you haven’t read this book, go do it. I’ll even lend you my copy. It’s a fast read and it will make you think about society.  Happy reading! Now I need to narrow down my ideas for October’s book since I only have about a week to read it. Why do I do this to myself?

 

One thought on “A Book A Month (September): The Giver by Lois Lowry

Leave a Comment

