A Book A Month (June): The Dinner by Herman Knoch

Sorry I haven’t filled you guys in on the book for June. Maybe I’m just trying to keep you on your toes. I have to thank Jody for suggesting this book on our Facebook page. This book was intense and a different read. Here’s the low down:

Title: The Dinner

Author: Herman Koch

Pages: 304

Synopsis: Two couples go to fancy dinner and we get a glimpse of their lives in the present and the past. The couples are two brothers and their wives. One is a political figure who is stuck up and the other is a retired teacher who has other personal problems. We think the couples don’t get along and are regular bickering families, but then we learn of a more complicated situation that involves their sons and a crime. You’ll find out how much families will do to cover a crime.

Opinion: It was interesting to read because of the jumps in time. You’ll be reading about the dinner conversation and then you’ll be jumped into a past experience or hour in the day. It was a little hard to piece all the puzzles together. If you don’t like a slightly challenging book to follow, this book isn’t for you. I enjoyed it because the families were really messed up. [I think it’s the psych major in me. I love analyzing family dynamics] The crime was very disturbing so the end result wasn’t expected, but kudos to Koch for going a different route.

Rating: 7/10. I didn’t read this book as fast as the others because it was hard to follow at times. The end did pick up because we started learning how everything fit together, but it took awhile [And I’m usually good at predicting things].

Tell me your thoughts of the book. I know it’s been awhile since I’ve read it, but I’m always open for a book discussion. Either comment below or head to the Facebook page for a discussion.

One thought on “A Book A Month (June): The Dinner by Herman Knoch

Leave a Comment

