Dreamer: Joslyn Vosta

Joslyn Vosta

Joslyn Vosta

Age: 20

Lives In: Lincoln, Nebraska

Current Job: Barista at Starbucks/VPS associate at the Nation Research Corporation

Ultimate Dreams:

My ultimate dream would to be able to afford to go to the School of the Art Institute in Chicago, so I can learn how to better express and understand myself.

What are you doing to attain your dream?

I just recently graduated with a degree in Graphic Design at Southeast Community College at the Milford location in Nebraska. During my time there I realized that becoming a graphic designer was not exactly what I wanted to do forever. So for now I’ve been working by day and coming home to work on my portfolio so I can go back to school in 2013.

What do you think you ultimately need to attain your dreams?

I have the skills and knowledge of how to get into the school, but for now the only thing that is stopping me is the cost. I would love to be able to live in an affordable small apartment and be able to go through school without the worry of having huge student loans when I am finished.

Have you attained any dreams? If so, what were they and what did you do to attain them?

My first dream was to become a Graphic Designer, and I fought my way through painful nights of staying up til 3am working hard to better myself. I discovered a lot about what my talents can and can’t do during those long hours. I still barely call myself a graphic designer, but at least now I have the little piece of paper to tell myself that I took 18 months of my life and devoted it to graphic design.

What’s your advice to other dreamers?

My only advice is to know when to stop. I have had so many times where I think I know what I need to do in life, and then I realize I’m just doing what everyone in my life is telling to do. Do things for yourself and stop doing it because everyone else wants you to, that’s not what a dream is.

2 thoughts on “Dreamer: Joslyn Vosta

Leave a Comment

