Felt Art DIY

I came upon this amazing AU shop online last year and was dying over their handmade felt art.

I really died when I saw the prices.

No, they really aren’t bad for original artwork, but they don’t fit in my budget right now, so I thought I’d try my hand at a DIY.

DIY Felt  Art
Yes, I know there’s pieces missing, this was just the layout stage

Normally I always try and support artists, even though it may be something I can recreate myself, but I made a little exception this time. Hopefully in the future I will be able to actually buy an original piece from the shop to repay them 🙂 As long as you’re not recreating it and trying to sell it, I think it’s ok for personal use.

The piece I recreated would cost you around $500 and I spent less than $50 on the DIY version. A pretty good deal! Sorry I don’t have step by step pictures for you, but I think it’s pretty easy to figure out.

Here’s what you’ll need:

– plastic stencil sheets

– sharp fabric scissors

– fabric glue

– spray glue

– pencil

– 1 yrd muslin or linen fabric

– frame (I used this one from IKEA) – foam core or mat board cut down to fit your frame

– felt or felted wool fabric (Felt is what you’ll find at any craft store and felted wool is a little nicer but also more expensive. You can find it at quilt stores and nicer fabric stores. I think there are better color selections as well)

– favorite quote or saying

diy felt art

  • Start by tracing your letters onto the stencil sheets. (My letters were about 4 inches tall and I just freehanded them, but you could definitely print out a block font you like from your computer. If you have a longer or short quote, you may want to adjust the size of your letters)
  • Cut out the letters with your scissors and trace them BACKWARDS onto your felt. (Use the positive space of the stencil, not the negative) If you trace them backwards, when you cut them out you won’t see any pencil lines. Even if you’re a perfect cutter, you still tend to see a little of the pencil especially on lighter colors.
  • Spray glue one side of your foam core or mat board and smooth out your piece of muslin or linen onto it. You can glue the raw edge around the back or just cut it down so it hangs over your board an inch or two. Once you put it in the frame, it won’t matter.
  • After you have your board ready, lay out your letters (if your frame has a mat like the one I used, make sure you put that down on your board while you lay out your letters or you may forget to leave enough room)
  • Glue down your letters with fabric glue, let dry, and pop it in your frame!

This project really is very easy and is a fun statement piece if you do it on a large scale!

I’m happy to answer any questions, just leave me a comment!

Most importantly, have fun and enjoy your new piece of art!

One thought on “Felt Art DIY

Leave a Comment

