Recipes: Brussel Sprouts, Bacon & Sweet Potatoes

brussel sprouts, bacon, sweet potatoes

brussel sprouts and sweet potatoes

It all started off with the photo above from Pinterest via Cinnamon Spice and Everything NiceĀ . I’d only tried brussels sprouts once and I wasn’t a big fan, but I saw this picture and thought I’d give them another chance. It also sealed the deal when I went to Aldi and saw that brussels sprouts were only $1.99 for a whole container.

I didn’t have the same ingredients as the Cinnamon Spice blog, so here’s what I used:

bacon, brussel sprouts, sweet potatoes, evoo, salt, oregano

 

Olive oil

Salt

Pepper

Oregano

Brussel Sprouts

4 Bacon strips

2 sweet potatoes

I’m more of a pour as you go kind of girl, so I can’t give you exact measurements, but I don’t think you can really mess up this recipe.

First you’ll want to preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Then start prepping your veggies.

brussel sprouts

Clean your brussels sprouts, cut them in half, and peel off the really hard outer layers.

sweet potatoes

Peel and cut your sweet potatoes into cubes– as small as you want your bites to be.

ingredients mixed together

Toss your brussels sprouts and sweet potatoes together with olive oil, salt, pepper, and oregano. Make sure every bite is covered in your spices and olive oil.

ingredients in the oven

Spread your mixture on a pan and stick in the oven (sorry for the bad picture).

bacon

Meanwhile, start making your bacon.You’ll start smelling the brussels sprouts and sweet potatoes cooking. Your brussels sprouts will start getting light brown on the edges and your sweet potatoes will get softer. Once your sweet potatoes start getting soft to the point you know they only need to be cooked for a couple more minutes, add your bacon.

bacon

I love bacon, so I thought I’d switch up the recipe a bit. I added my bacon and bacon fat to the pan while in the oven to get it more flavor. Then when everything looks done, crumble your bacon so it serves better.

brussel sprouts, bacon, sweet potatoes

Here’s the end product. It was so good. Mike even liked it! I think if you can impress a chef, it’s a good sign.

Go try it for yourself and tell me how you liked it!

One thought on “Recipes: Brussel Sprouts, Bacon & Sweet Potatoes

Leave a Comment

