A Book A Month (April): Gone Girl

gone girl by gillian flynn

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is another case in point that it’s ok to read what everyone else is reading. Yes, sometimes I go with the trends and read the hot books, and usually I don’t hate myself after. I don’t know if I’d read all her books –she’s a little twisted– but this one is really good. I’m so glad I read it for April.

Book Info:

Title: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Pages: About 432

Synopsis: It’s follows the story of a writer, Nick, and his wife Amy. They seem like they’d be a great couple until you really get into the storyline. Everything in their marriage seems to fall apart due to depression, moving out of NYC, drinking problems? and more. Then on their fifth anniversary Amy disappears. Did someone kidnap her? Kill her? or is there more? I don’t want to go into any more detail because I’d probably ruin the whole story. I can tell you there is a scavenger hunt, lots of news coverage, an awkward brother and sister relationship, revenge, betrayal, and more. 

Opinion: I loved this book. I think I read it in about four days. The whole storyline is suspenseful. You learn one detail and it changes the whole book. I caught myself going “ahhh” and “you tricky little writer” a lot. Gillian Flynn gets really twisted at times, to the point where you think there maybe something wrong with her since she thought of that scenario, but it definitely makes a good read.

The book really makes you think about your relationship too. Are you noticing all the little details your loved one wants you to? Is he/she really happy? Does he/she resent you for a decision you made?

The two things I learned from the book are that 1.) There are a lot of sick people out there 2.) It’s true that you never really know what could be happening behind closed doors in a relationship.

Rating: 10/10

I’d love to discuss more in the comment section. Please take this as a WARNING to DO NOT READ THE COMMENT SECTION if you want the book to be a secret. The comment section is a place to really talk about what happened. I’m dying to share more thoughts with those who have read it!!!

I will also be reading the 13th Tale by Diane Setterfield for the month of May, if you’d like to join me.

One thought on “A Book A Month (April): Gone Girl

Leave a Comment

