Dreamer: Preston Werner

Preston Werner

SchoolOfMetaphysics
Age: 28
Lives In: Lincoln, NE
Current Job: Graduate Teaching Assistant, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ultimate Dreams: (a) Get a Doctorate in Philosophy, (b) Get a permanent teaching position in Philosophy and excel at teaching meaningful things, (c) Possibly publish something that might be interesting to a few people.
What are you doing to attain your dream?
I’m currently writing my dissertation, which will hopefully go some way toward achieving all three of the above. I’m always trying to find various ways to improve my teaching abilities as well.
What do you think you ultimately need to attain your dreams?
I’ve got a lot of hard work ahead of me, obviously. I also think it’s important to surround myself with intelligent and hard-working people. And, let’s be honest, I need some luck as well!
Have you attained any dreams? If so, what were they and what did you do to attain them?
Professionally, I have completed a B.A. and an M.A. in Philosophy, and obtained admission to two high quality PhD programs (Nebraska and Syracuse). I’ve also presented a few papers I’ve written at professional conferences. Personally, I’ve obtained every dream I’ve ever had–I have a lovely wife, a wonderful dog, and I don’t have to worry about where I will sleep at night or where my next meal will come from. I can’t ask for anything more.
What’s your advice to other dreamers?
I hesitate to give advice, since I don’t feel like I have enough experience to claim any wisdom! But here’s what I will say: Don’t let your family, friends, or (most importantly) culture tell you that your dreams aren’t important or meaningful. If you find something meaningful, it is.
I’m so happy that we’re featuring Preston. He is my brother-in-law and is completely smarter than what this entry portrays him as. He won’t say it, but I’m pretty sure he’s already a big deal in the Philosophy world. Read more about him on this “generic professional website” that he doesn’t update a lot here. Add any comments or questions below! 
Leave a Comment

