Dreamer: Cait Suttie

20130204-065313.jpg

Age: 25

Lives In: Misawa-shi, Aomori, Japan

Current Job: Public Affairs Officer for 35th Fighter Wing and Misawa Air Base; 1st Lieutenant, US Air Force

Ultimate Dreams:

Well, that is a hard one…. I have so many. I think I can narrow it down to two, depending on how my life plays out.

1) I would like to go to law school and become a JAG for the Air Force… And therefore continue my world tour.

2) I would get out of the Air Force and write travel books — Preferably for Lonely Planet. I’d travel to strange and wonderful corners of the world shedding light on their mysteries for other wandering souls.

What are you doing to attain your dream?

I am taking classes toward a Masters in International Relations, studying for my LSAT, and networking with people who might be able to get the Air Force to send me to Law School. For my writing dream, I have a travel blog that includes stories from my travels (though sorely out of date on Japan, as I have a hard time writing posts about where I live). You can read at http://travelsoftheharte.blogspot.com

What do you think you ultimately need to attain your dreams?

Time and experience. I believe you can accomplish anything with time an experience… And knowing a few people doesn’t hurt either.

Have you attained any dreams? If so, what were they and what did you do to attain them?

I have officially crossed off ‘live in another country’ on my bucket list. I really enjoy living somewhere different. While I do miss some things about the good ole USA, I never find myself truly homesick.

What’s your advice to other dreamers?

Never turn down an opportunity to expand your horizons. Move somewhere strange, do something that makes your heart race, if it ends up not turning out as you planned at least it was good cardio! Most importantly, never fear failure. The best stories come from the things that didn’t work out!

I went to school with Cait in Des Moines and she’s a great person and friend. I remember how exciting it was when she got accepted into the Air Force Academy. Not only because she’s a woman kicking ass and taking names, but because she is following her grandfather’s (if I remember right) footsteps. If you can help her with her dreams or give her advice/words of encouragement, please do so. You know the routine!

Leave a Comment

