Dreamer: Josh Fleming

Josh-Fleming
Age: 38
Lives in: Des Moines, Iowa
Current Job: Digital Strategy Director, Lessing-Flynn Advertising
Ultimate Dream: See one of my screenplays on the silver screen.
What are you doing to attain your dream?
I write whenever I have free time – which isn’t often enough. I have finished one screenplay, a thriller/ drama called Blackbird Roost. I’m currently researching screenplay competitions and will enter one or more in the next couple of months. I’m currently co-writing a comedy screenplay with a close friend which should be done by the end of the year. Co-writing is a new and great experience for me, but I’m learning it can often be a waiting game. So, to keep me writing, I’ve started on a third screenplay with inspiration and help from my four children. The third screenplay is a family movie and having my kids’ input on dialogue and story structure has provided me with teachable moments as a dad as well as brought insight only kids can offer.
What do you think you ultimately need to attain your dreams?
I need someone to read my work. Getting noticed in the screenwriting business isn’t easy, so cheers to this blog post and the hope that someone sees this and wants to learn more.
Have you attained any dreams? If so, what’d you do to attain them?
I always dreamed of starting my own company, which I did. I never dreamed that it would fail. VineMe.com was a great learning opportunity and with both Google and Facebook stealing our concept (true story) it gave me validation that my ideas and dreams, no matter what they are, have validity. VineMe took a lot of work after hours and required a ton of personal sacrifice. I learned a lot and I am better for having the experience.
What’s your advice to other dreamers out there?
Stop making it just a dream and get started. If you do nothing, it will remain a dream. I think people are too afraid to fail, but with failure you learn a ton about yourself and the world around you. No shame in that. So, get out there and start making it happen.

Josh is a great guy and mentor. Check out his other outlets too: AdMavericks.com – One of Iowa’s most read marketing blogs that he created for Lessing-Flynn, JoshPointO.com – his personal blog, LinkedIn to connect, and twitter.

 Who can help him with his screenwriting dreams? Time to network!

4 thoughts on “Dreamer: Josh Fleming

  1. Hey Josh,

    Not sure if you seen John August’s blog yet, but if not I’d highly recommend it to any aspiring screenwriter. It has a wealth of info and practical advice – johnaugust.com

    Plus John is a great guy and will respond to questions as his time allows.

    Good luck!

    John

Leave a Comment

