Dreamer: Taylor Boeyink

taylor-boeyink-2

Age: 22

Lives In: Des Moines, IA

Current Job: Studio Arts Student

Ultimate Dream: 

My dream is to one day own a studio in an urban area. I want to open this studio to provide opportunities and support for people who want to be creative- whatever that looks like for them. When I say “people”, I literally mean anyone and everyone. I’d love to have workshops for people with disabilities, grandmas, the homeless, refugees, toddlers, etc. I have seen the power art has to build and transform community. We live in a day and age where art programs continue to get cut from school budgets and the general population wants to always be in front of screen. I want this place to encourage people of all backgrounds, cultures, ages, etc. to learn from each other, try something new, create, and discover how therapeutic art can be. I want to fill my dream place with every art medium possible. I want there to be everything from paints and charcoal to boxes of paper and sewing machines. I want there to be a room where dancers can perform, a stage where poetry can be slammed and music can be played, and I want the coffee and tea pots to always be going.

What are you doing to attain your dream?
I am in my last year of undergrad for studio arts with a certificate in art therapy. I’ve had two art therapy internships and am in the process of applying to graduate school for cultural arts administration/management. I have a lot of knowledge about the art world and now I’d love to learn the business side of things.

What do you think you need to attain your dreams?
The ability to write many perfect grants, amazing networking skills and a charming personality. No, but in seriousness, people say, “It’s not what you know, it’s who you know.” I think there is a lot of truth to that, so moving forward I will need to make a lot of connections and find people who are willing to invest in my dream with me. It will also take the right time and place; finding a community in need of something like this, a place where it can flourish.

Have you attained any dreams? If so, what’d you do to attain them?
I have! My husband and I have both loved doing mission/volunteer work in various developing countries and he nerds out about Africa (he was recently accepted to the University of Edinburgh for their African Development program. Sorry, I’m really proud of him!), so this summer we were able to both do internships with an absolutely incredible organization in Uganda, Child Voice International (www.childvoiceintl.org). I, along with another intern, was able to create an art therapy program and work with women who were formerly abducted by the LRA, child mothers, and school-age kids both in a small village and in the city of Gulu. I have studied the LRA conflict a lot, so it was a dream come true to be able to meet and befriend women who had been in the trenches of that. To be able use what little skills I had to offer to help them heal or even just have fun was truly a highlight of my life and has inspired me even more to pursue my dream.

I’m particularly in love with her dream responses. At 22 years old she’s done so much volunteer work, it’s crazy. Hopefully Taylor has inspired you to do more, be a part of the art community, and to not be afraid to reach your goals! Take a look at her blog, Love Taylor, too! It’s full of more inspiration and thought-provoking posts.

5 thoughts on “Dreamer: Taylor Boeyink

  1. Pingback: movie1234.com

Leave a Comment

