Dreamer: Emily Foley

Age: 29

Lives In: Atlanta

Current Job: Freelance writer/beauty expert

Ultimate Dream: The word ‘ultimate’ makes this one hard for me. I almost feel like anything I say is limiting with that word there! However, I have always dreamed of being on The Today Show. Not as someone who survived some horrible medical malady, but as an expert talking about something fun. I never really knew what I’d be an expert in, but I knew I wanted to be on the show. 

What are you doing to attain your dream?: The funny thing is, the beginning of attaining this dream happened very organically. I wasn’t thinking, ‘How can I position myself to get on The Today Show,’ but, as a writer, I’ve always been a generalist, writing about everything from fashion to healthy living. Recently however, I have started focusing on beauty more, and have really become known as a beauty writer. Through that, I have started doing beauty segments on the local CBS affiliate morning show and now appear bi-weekly to talk about the latest, greatest beauty trends. In doing these local segments, I’m gaining experience and furthering my platform as an expert, which can lead to national segments.

What do you think you need to attain your dreams?: Hard work. That’s my answer to everything! If you want it, work for it. The name Emily means ‘industrious’, which really explains so much. I am the hardest working person I know, and I really don’t mean that in a boastful way–I genuinely don’t know how to stop! I’m a total workaholic, but it’s just part of me. If I’m awake, I’m working at something.

Have you attained any dreams? If so, what’d you do to attain them?: Becoming a successful freelance writer is a total dream attainment for me. And here’s a shocker–you know how I attained it? Hard work! 🙂 So, so, so much hard work. But the pay off is beyond worth it all!

What do you think? Have you read any of Emily’s pieces? Share your comments, advice, and questions here or @dreamtillgreen.

5 thoughts on “Dreamer: Emily Foley

Leave a Comment

