Dreamer: Andrea Diaz



Age: 24

From San Juan, Puerto Rico; Currently living in Chicago, Illinois

Job: Currently working as a sales associate in West Elm

Ultimate Dream: To be a successful interior designer. I want to create innovative, attractive, functional spaces (residential and/or commercial) that fulfill my clients’ needs and expectations. I want to design spaces to improve peoples lifestyles.

What are you doing to attain your dream?: I left my island, my family, my friends, & everything I knew and came to Chicago in order to receive the best education possible. I’m currently in my 2nd year of my Bachelors Degree in Interior Design. I am also becoming a member of IIDA (International Interior Design Association) & ASID (American Society of Interior Designers). This will help me be involved with what’s currently happening in the Interior Design world & it is also a great way to start networking and becoming more prevalent in the designer world.

What do you think you need in order to attain your dream?: In order to attain my dream I need to be focused. I need to finish my education, get licensed, & start networking. I need people to know who I am, what I do, & what I am able to do & create for them.

Have you attained any dreams? If so, what’d you do to attain them?: Two of my passions have always been the Arts & Psychology. That being said, I attained one of my dreams of studying Psychology and I obtained my Bachelors Degree in 2006 from the University of Puerto Rico- Rio Piedras Campus. A lot of people ask me: “So why from Psychology now you jump to Interior Design? One has nothing to do with the other.”And you know what? They are completely wrong. All the knowledge I acquired in my first Bachelors Degree I apply to my everyday life and it definitely applies when dealing with my clients in the Interior Design business. You need to be able to understand the need of your clients and decipher what they want but can’t explain. Something as simple as colors can have such a high impact in peoples’ behavior. You, as an interior designer, need to be able to understand, at the moment of designing a space for a specific person, the needs to serve a specific purpose.

Can you help Andrea out? Do you know of any Interior Designers that she can talk to? Let us know @dreamtillgreen

One thought on “Dreamer: Andrea Diaz

  1. I find very interesting that you intend on combining elements of psychology with interior design, in particular the effects of colors in a person's everyday life. I am looking forward to see what comes out of this proposition. I wish you nothing but the best! ; )

Leave a Comment

