Dreamer: Dorothy Garton



Age: 55      

Current Job: Retail. Making dream little girls and little boys’ bedrooms and playrooms


Lives In: Des Moines, IA

Ultimate Dream:  Over my lifetime I have had many dreams that I thought would be awesome to attain.  When I was growing up, I wanted to be a singer and have that as my career.  I would sing in front of the mirror with my hairbrush as my mic (doesn’t every little girl do this?)  I didn’t become a singer, but I did get to sing many a solo for church and also sing for many of my friends and relatives’ weddings.  As a young adult, I dreamt of having a great family and having a beautiful home and giving my kids so many things and opportunities for them to grow and be great adults.  Now as my husband and I are approaching retirement my dreams have become our dreams.  I still have the dream for my children to be successful in their endeavors and lives. We dream one day to travel Europe, first Ireland and England and definitely Italy and the Mediterranean area. We have always loved the Rocky Mountains and we dream of living near them one day or at least spending summers in the Rockies with enough space for all of our family to join us. 

What do you think you need to attain your dreams?:  $$ and good health

Have you attained any dreams? If so, what’d you do to attain them? One of my biggest dreams has been my children.  They are becoming wonderful adults to know!  I feel that the home we made for them to grow up in was filled with love and guidance.  Being a parent is always challenging. I have always included prayer in the decisions that I made in parenting and in my life.  Having a strong faith in God and a strong prayer life has been my stabling force through everything.

What do you think of this week’s Dreamer? Have any suggestions for her dream of traveling? Let us know!

5 thoughts on “Dreamer: Dorothy Garton

  1. Love these dreams! Dorothy's “dream” family has certainly become a reality – you are all wonderful human beings and delights to know and call friends.

    As for traveling – just go! Use airbnb or something similar to cut down on accommodation expense (the most annoying kind of travel expense, in my opinion)–and get outta town. There's a pint of Guinness with your name on it!

Leave a Comment

