Dreamer: LaTonya Williams

 
Age: 38
Lives In: Bellwood, IL
Ultimate Dream: To have a career in fashion design
What are you doing to attain your dream?: After 10 years of working in corporate America, I redirected my career focus. After returning back to Chicago I:
-Went back to school for fashion design at IADT Chicago.  I graduated in 2009, summa cum laude in 2 years.
– Was featured in several fashion events around the city
– Competed in an online design competition sponsored by Kenmore called So You Wanna Be a Designer
– Featured in several local magazines and blogs
– Currently a resident designer in the Chicago Fashion Incubator
What do you think you need to attain your dreams?:  Continue to stay focused on the end goal.  Following a dream can be rough with great sacrifice.  Giving up is always a thought but never an option.
Have you attained any dreams? If so, what’d you do to attain them?:  I’m only partially there.  I’ve accomplished so much since I began in January 2007, but I still have a ways to go. My dreams have come true. I wanted a career in fashion design, which I have. I am selling my clothes, my brand is becoming recognized, I will be featured in 2012 Chicago Fashion Focus (fashion week). I am so close I can taste it. Attaining these goals came with lots of dedication and focus. Not listening to the “Na sayers” and only being surrounded by those who shared positive words and encouragement.
 
Can you help LaTonya out? Check out her awesome white blouses below. And don’t forget to check out her website, social media outlets, and online shop. Support a Dreamer!
 
  

Leave a Comment

