Meeting Joy Cho

Look at those shoes! They’re from her About section too.


Joy Cho had her first stop on her book tour at West Elm (In Chicago) last night and I attended. After working my eight-hour shift, I stuck around to listen to one of the first successful bloggers. 

If you don’t know her, Joy Cho started Oh Joy! in 2005, which launched her career as a successful blogger and graphic designer with collaborations with Anthropologie, UrbanOutfitters, Kate Spade, and more. She’s super sweet, cute, and a fellow Syracuse Alumna. 



Hearing about her journey as a blogger was very inspirational. She didn’t even know what she was getting into seven years ago and now she has two published books, a stationary line, tons of followers, and more. Her blog is her inspirations and what she loves in design, fashion, and food. It’s not about something crazy you need to be an expert in. She only blogs about what she likes, cupcakes and all.



I loved when Joy said “It [blogging] fulfills a certain part of your brain.” I whole-heartedly agree with her. I created this website because I needed a space to do what I love. It makes me feel like my brain isn’t becoming mush from just doing the same retail-routine day in and day out. This website keeps me on my toes and challenged each day. She definitely was the inspiration to keep on going. She even gave some of her tips from her new book on how to run a website — watch out world, here I come!


I can’t wait to get paid on Friday so I can buy her book, Blog Inc. It’s still on pre-order on Amazon, so haha. I won’t spoil it all for you. From what I flipped through at work, it looks pretty informational if you want to know the ins and outs of the blogging business.


 I also want to comment that the set up for the book signing was great. Shout outs to Ryan at West Elm for the book “chandelier.” The treats by Salted Caramel were also amazing. I’m seriously thinking about having some of their treats at our wedding. De.li.cious!

 
 
Stayed tuned for some pictures from Smilebooth too. We had fun goofy around in front of the camera. It was an all around good time. Thanks Joy and West Elm!
 
Cheers!
Katie

Here’s the link to the Smilebooth shenanigans!

Leave a Comment

