Stop Wasting Food

I’ve noticed that Mike and I waste quite a bit of food. It’s mostly veggies going bad in the refrigerator, but I still feel really bad. If you haven’t read any articles lately about the food waste problem, then please do. I’ve heard of people planning meals for months or freezing food, but I don’t know if they really work. I don’t know how exactly how I’m going to prevent wasting, but here are some of the ideas that I’ve read about that might be practical for us.

1. If we have food that we don’t know what to cook with, I think I’ll start using UseTheFood.com — if I get an invite. You can type in the ingredient and they will throw out recipe ideas. You do need a membership to the website, but I’ve read great things about it.

2. Make croutons out of old bread (idea via Teresa Hunsakers). This seems ingenious. Mike and I are bread snobs, but fresh bread goes bad fast. I will welcome homemade croutons into my life with open arms. Maybe I’ll try out this recipe.

3. “Don’t toss those trimmed ends from onions, carrots, celery, or peppers. Store them in your freezer, and once you have a good amount saved up, add them to a large pot with a few cups of water and make homemade vegetable broth. This is also a great use for cabbage cores and corn cobs.” This was posting on TLC and it seems pretty ingenious. Broth is always good for homemade noodles.

4. We tend to waste lettuce. I’ve used this trick before, but often forget. If you “Store greens with a damp paper towel in airtight containers in the refrigerator” then they last longer. (a lovely reminder via AARP)

What do you do to not waste? Does planning a month of meals really work?

Leave a Comment

