How to Make the Best Shrimp

Cooking for a chef can be quite intimidating but I figure with my grandma’s genes and the help of Pinterest I have some luck. Tuesday was Mike’s birthday so I had to cook to impress my man. I found this pin about the best shrimp you’ll ever eat so I gave it a try. Result: the best non-restaurant shrimp I’ve ever eaten. And I’m not trying to toot my own horn.

I’m not one for following directions, so I didn’t exactly do what the pin said, but it was a success.

Ingredients for my recipe:
1 bag of frozen shrimp (from Aldis)
1 stick of butter
Lemon juice
Fresh Basil
Fresh Rosemary
Dried Oregano

Instructions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. While that is preheating you can put your stick of butter in a 9X13 pan and into the oven. Keep an eye on it.

2. Open your bag of shrimp and take off the tails.

3. Chop up your fresh herbs. I used about 4 small leaves of basil and 1 sprig of rosemary.
4. When the stick of butter is pretty much melted, take the pan out.

5. Put your shrimp in the pan.

6. Squirt a good amount of lemon juice on it. The original recipe says use a whole lemon so if you want to be precise, use a real lemon or look up the conversion rate.
7. Sprinkle your chopped up herbs and oregano on top of the shrimp. Put enough on so that every shrimp has each seasoning on it.

8. Put the pan in the oven and let it cook for around 15 minutes. I think I left mine in longer because I made bruschetta, toasted bread, made instant mashed potatoes, and raspberry lemonade while it all cooked. You’ll know it’s done when the butter looks golden on the sides and there’s a film…but not a nasty film. You’ll know.

8. Then bon app├ętit! We ate it plain, but I think it would’ve tasted wonderful on angel hair pasta with the extra butter and herbs poured over it. It seriously tastes like shrimp you’d get at a restaurant and it’s very simple to make.

Go try it and tell me what you think!

Cheers!
Katie

Leave a Comment

